The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern :: Indescribably Different

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern has been the talk of the town for the past few months. No surprise, with such a deliciously quirky cover. But it’s strange. Every time I ask somone who’s read it to describe the plot, I’m met with blank, dreamy stares. Not one person could get beyond, “well, it’s about a circus that only comes at night (wow, really?), and, I don’t know, it’s hard to describe. But you should definitely read it.” So finally, I amazoned a copy right to my door. And I must say, I get it now.
How do you describe this indescribable book? I’ve spent the last half hour writing summary after summary, but I can’t quite nail it down. Nothing I write can capture the magic, mystery and ellusiveness of this novel. It’s just something you have to read for yourself. Did I enjoy it? Absolutely. Is it the best book I’ve ever read? No. But it’s the kind of book that you can’t compare to others. It doesn’t belong on the same rating scale. If you’ve read it, you probably understand where I’m coming from.

Leave a Reply

